Kids just get to a stage in high school, around about half-way through year 8 where everything goes to pot (metaphorically as well as possibly literally for some) until the time they are doing the school certificate in year 10. Just about all of them come out the end of the tunnel as better people, even the lovely 70 class I had in my first year. Who became 8Y in my second year, who I thankfully didn't have to teach in my third year, small mercies. Now I'm having some extended contact with them again they seem to have come out alright.
But at that point half way through year 8, when they're no longer shiny little year 7s who tend not to muck up too much and if they do the threat of a phone call to mum settles them down again, they seem to lose the plot. I can't wait until I have one of my own...
No comments:
Post a Comment