Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Doubly promising...

Too much going on, deciding that if I hadn't posted anything in ages then what was really the point and lots of reading other people's blogs and wondering WHY they hadn't updated in SOOOOO LONG (ie, 24hrs. Bloggers I like are not allowed to have a life, despite that being what I am reading about. Irony=delicious).

Add to the falling by the wayside basket: 365 photo project of Cait, had to transfer photos from old to new laptop so didn't want to take any more for a short while, lost SD card for medium length while, camera out of batteries for long while. I did try, I got the AA's out of the X-box remote (don't tell Ben...) but they were nearly out of juice too and no good. Not going near shops til sometime next week. Don't think I've updated that album since June (?) anyway...

So what's new?

-Vegetarian now. Ben grossly opposed. It would be like him suddenly coming home one day and saying Matt Giteau is the best player in the world apparently. And is upset that he finally came round to the idea of a leather lounge when we get our tax back.

-Bought land and are hoping to build a house one day, if we can ever manage to get posted/get out and live there.

-Loving the Tudors series on Foxtel. Loving having Foxtel.

-Teaching much more drama and loving that. Not loving the man-tanties of some students.

-Still plugging away at uni. 5/8 subjects complete and think I might major in Defence Studies rather than History, the units still count towards my teaching accreditation and I just think it sounds so wonderfully pretentious when Ben would clearly know more!

And on that note, off to do some readings...

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Taking that back.

So instead of posting last night, I crashed out on the lounge during Hoodwinked. A) It was obvious who did it all along anyway and B) I was REALLY tired! Caitlin woke up at the lovely time of 4am on Saturday morning, went down early for her nap and woke up at 1230pm and that was it for sleep for the day.

She was rather cute aruond bedtime though, getting her sleeping bag out of the washing pile and trying to put it on and trying to snuggle up under the doona that was on the floor of the lounge room. Of course, when I tried to 'help' her by putting her arms in her sleeping bag properly, she realised it must be bedtime soon rather than a fun game she was playing and promptly lost it. Was asleep within a minute of being put to bed though so that makes it all okay.

Tomorrow we face the challenge of starting daycare :(

Friday, April 9, 2010

Another bad blogger here

I hate going to read the blogs I follow and finding that they haven't been updated. Don't the bloggers KNOW that I'm waiting to read their next installment? :P

So not really having the time to write a proper post now I am promising to update tonight. I kind of blew off the whole blogging idea, it was getting longer and longer since my last one but am now in the mindframe that I'd like to do it more regularly.

Sunday, December 13, 2009

Kids Meals

Caitlin had her first Children's meal on Saturday.

There was a menu at the RSL for those under 12 with very kid friendly (ie deep fried or pasta) choices and I thought I would get her some fish and chips as she loves fish whenever we have it. Then the server told me that if they're under 3 they can have one of 3 meals for free. So Caitlin got chicken nuggets and chips. first time ever having processed stuff like that and she wasn't too fussed. Loved the chips though, and the grated carrot and cherry tomatoes from my salad.

The very special thing about the (free) kids meal was the bonus free ice cream with every kids meal. Yep, a free icecream with the free meal. She got a little coupon and everything. Which Daddy took to the counter to get a bowl of ice cream with chocolate topping. We gave her a little bit on the spoon and she spat the first bit out because it was too cold but quickly got the hang of it. I'd given her her cup of milk just before the ice cream came out and she much prefered that anyway.

Which was good because Ben and I both like ice cream.

Thursday, December 10, 2009

How to make Christmas Balls in 10 easy steps

1. Begin baking at 2230.
2. Make a flourless chocolate and hazlenut cake mix.
3. After melting in water baths, whipping, folding and separating several ingredients, put the cake in a normal cake tin rather than a springform pan because you don't have one and assume it will be okay to 'flip it out'.
4. Put cake on bottom shelf in oven for unbeknowst reason, and cook for 2hrs as oven was on light rahter than 160 degrees.
5. Attempt to flip cake once it comes out, creating a hideous mess, eat several pieces of chocolatey mess with fingers, crack the s@$%s at xbox playing husband and go to bed, hoping he cleans it up (the water is still in the sink, come on!).
6. Wake up next morning to large, gooey yet slightly stale chocolatey mess.
7. Remember recepie for Christmas cookies with candy canes on top from Coles magazine and furiously crush a packet of candy canes.
8. Roll rapidly disintergrating cake into numerous chocolate balls of goodness.
9. Gently push chunks of candy cane into top of each ball.
10. Plate up as though it is what you intended to make all along.

For the record, I would do the candy canes much more fine (Caitlin didn't like the mummy crushing candy canes with the rolling pin noise) and roll the balls in the candy cane 'dust' like you do with coconut and rum balls. They were still pretty tasty though!

Monday, December 7, 2009

Routines

When I had Caitlin I thought I would be a person who would loathe routines. EVERYBODY said let the baby lead you, feed on demand, as long as she sleeps it doesn't matter where and on and on and on.

In the last year I have learnt that this doesn't work for me. If I let her lead all we would do would be watch ITNG until she crashed because she couldn't physically stay awake any longer. If I fed her on demand we would have taken much longer to discover her reflux as she was comfort sucking to ease her throat and wanting to suck every half hour. If I let her sleep when and wherever we would probably still be at the stage of her only sleeping on my lap for 20 min bursts. None of which was really working.

At the moment we have a great routine going when Ben is home. We're having an early dinner at 5:30 as a family, quite often the same food too. Today Caitlin had 2 frozen tuna and potato patties, our continental rice with carrot, peas and corn, seconds of our rice, thirds of our rice, tiny bits of my schnitzel and nearly a whole tin of apple custard. This was after having half a slice of bread 15 mins earlier because I wasn't cooking fast enough and was followed by a whole cup of milk. (And about 3 poos for those interesed in TMI, she had to make room somehow...). Dad then goes to have a shower after his bike ride home while I clean up Caitlin, Caitlin is then given a bath and dressed by Dad while I clean up the floor/walls/highchair and get the washing up started. Caitlin then runs round drinking her cup of milk and playing with toys while Ben watches the Simpsons and I use the computer and have a cup of tea. Either of us then put her to bed at 730, its usually Ben just becasue he doesn't see her as much. It's me when the cricket is on in Perth.

And its a lovely end to the day.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Learning to eat

Today Caitlin decided she would eat her baked bean dinner herself. She was reasonably content to ease her hunger by letting Mummy feed her to begin with (because it was soooo loooonnnng since afternoon tea...) but after a while we were definitely in 'I do it' territory.

Lately she has been trying to get her food onto the spoon or fork herself and she does succeed on the odd occasion. When that became too hard it was fingers, picking up fistfulls of baked beans then smushing them into her mouth, palm flat, and kind of sucking them off while the juice dripped down her chin. Finally we got to lifting the bowl up (those suction ones so do not work by the way, don't waste your money) and slurping out the contents. You can see the results below. Got to love her.



And because I'm such a mean mummy (should have seen the out takes from the santa photo today) here's the first photo I took and then decided didn't make the cut.